HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Expandables (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/367623-expandables.html)

iayotehunter 07-16-2012 12:52 PM

Expandables

I have been using the 2 Rage in the past but am getting tired of having to purchase new o-rings all the time so I was wondering what every ones choices were for mechanical broadheads? I was thinking about going with the Grim Reapers but figured I'd get some input before I made my decision

superstrutter 07-17-2012 08:43 AM

I've been using Spitfire 100 grain for over 10 years and love them. Never had one open in flight and every deer I have shot, with the exception of one, was a complete pass through. They produce great entry and exit wounds. You don't have to worry about o-rings. They are also durable. On several occasions I have killed a deer and cleaned and sharpened the blades and killed another with the same broadhead. I wouldn't try it three times though. Of course that won't happen every time, but they are great broadheads.

Valentine 07-17-2012 09:10 AM

o rings

Still use O rings and get them from a local store; available in the plumbing dept. at a hardware store. Just take an old one to get the right size. At mine they come loose, so you can buy only what you need.

AR Bowhunter 07-17-2012 03:59 PM

Grim Reapers are nice. I used them last year. They worked flawless three times all except one was pass throughs. The one that was not a pass through fell with in sight. It could not have been a pass if it wanted too.

tim waller 07-18-2012 05:38 PM

bh

shoot thunderheads no rings always open and tough. been shootn them for 25 yrs. tune your bow and they fly with fieldtips. i buy new blades every year and use the same bh

LI archer 07-20-2012 04:27 AM