Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 What makes a bow more forgiving? >

What makes a bow more forgiving?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

What makes a bow more forgiving?

Old 08-23-2003, 08:44 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default What makes a bow more forgiving?

I have been shooting for 3 years now and I have only shot one bow which is obviously the one I am currently set up with. I hear people talking about how bows are more forgiving. In what way are they more forgiving? How come a larger brace height is more forgiving? Thanks for all of your help-Sam
Old 08-23-2003, 09:32 PM

Default RE: What makes a bow more forgiving?

The term " forgiving" is too loosely used. I am also guilty at times.

No bow is " forgiving." To forgive generally means that one pardons a wrong. I do not have to tell you that, so far, a bow will never forgive a mistake, auto correct the mistake, and then allow your arrow to fly as though a wrong did not occur.

All bows are sensitive. Some are more sensitive than others.

As for brace height, two general beliefs apply. 1: The higher the brace, the sooner the arrow leaves the string and the bow. The sooner the arrow leaves the string and the bow, the less chance there is for something you do wrong to affect the flight of the arrow. 2: Lower brace heights are more prone to wrist or arm contact.

I am not sure I buy into #1. However, I do #2.
Old 08-23-2003, 09:38 PM

Maybe we should call it " shooter friendly" instead of more forgiving.

With shorter brace heights (and short axle lengths) - hand placement, hand torque, and arm slap (espeacially if the bow is a little long) play an important role. Longer axle-to-axle plays and important role also. If you look at just about all your top 300 indoor shooters they are shooting long axle to axle bows with longer brace heights.