HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   New bow (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/358410-new-bow.html)

bow hunter 2 02-10-2012 11:45 AM

New bow

Hey guys first new thread for me. But I am new to bow hunting and was just wondering, what kind of bow I should get to start out with as well as arrow heads. I will be hunting deer in White Run.

HDMontana 02-10-2012 06:08 PM

Welcome to the site. Are you looking for a compound or traditional bow? Either way, you need to go to an archery shop and shoot some different bows. Each bow may have a different feel when holding, drawing and shooting. Don't get caught up in a this company is better than that company, buy one that you can shoot well and like the feel of. They all offer a lifetime warranty and will stand behind their product. There have been a lot of new bow threads lately with some good input from site members. Take a look at some of those for some good advice overall. Any other questions then don't be afraid to ask.

sdhunter11 02-11-2012 05:31 PM

X2 on HDMontana, Most archery shops are more than willing to let you shoot different bows and help you find one that fits you and your budget. I myself am a mathews man but i did shoot the hoyt vector 32 and it was a pretty amazing bow. Just some food for thought if it fits in your budget. Good luck.

36fan 02-11-2012 06:02 PM

Go to an archery store and check out what they have, check reviews on the bows you like, then make a decision. I recomend checking out Mission bows. They are Mathews "affordable" line. I just got a Mission Riot and love it. It is has a draw length that is adjustable from 19-30" and 15-70 lb draw weight, and a lifetime warranty. In a few years I can adjust it down for my kids and get another new bow for me ;-)