HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Looking for compound bow help (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/351814-looking-compound-bow-help.html)

Harrell95 10-19-2011 05:31 AM

Looking for compound bow help

I have been bowhunting for about 5 years now, i am 16. I started out with an old PSE game getter. I moved on to a horton crossbow and this past summer i bought a barnett quad 400. I am looking for a compound bow and just want some input from guys who know more than me. I am a self taught hunter and dont know very much. any input would be greatly appreciated. I have no problems buying older or used bows. would like to stay under 500 bucks of possible. PSE,diamond,matthews, whats every1s opinion for a good first compound bow.

THanks again,
Nate Harrell

wallhangr 10-19-2011 09:30 AM

You can easily find a PSE, Diamond, or almost any other bow in that $$ range by looking for one that is a couple years old. But first, get measured for draw length. Once you know that, try shooting a couple to see what you like best.

Harrell95 10-19-2011 10:13 AM

thanks for the help. what do you shoot?

sdhunter11 10-19-2011 10:29 AM

I shoot the mathews switchback xt and like it alot, not to say that there is other good bows out there used. If i was in your shoes i would start hitting the used racks and heck even the new racks and test shoot as many bows as i could to get a feel for what i like. Most archery shops are more than happy to let you try them out so why not.

Harrell95 10-19-2011 11:02 AM

HOw much did you pay for the matthews you have?

olfatguy 10-19-2011 02:49 PM