Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 AAE or Bohning Vanes?? >

AAE or Bohning Vanes??

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

AAE or Bohning Vanes??

Old 07-08-2003, 08:53 PM

Default AAE or Bohning Vanes??

I need some of ya' ll' s (quick) advice. I will order some plastic fletchings tommorow and was wondering which brand you like better, AAE or Bohning. I will be using helical w/ 4" vanes. Also what is some good glue to use on carbons. My friend has been using some glue (fastset gel by AAE). It sets up really fast but I don' t like the outcome. The glue resembles (super glue), it leaves a hard residue with a lot of white streaking anwhere the glue touches. Thanks in advance.

LAHUNTER
Old 07-08-2003, 10:02 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: AAE or Bohning Vanes??

I have been using bohning for the last three years and recently ordered some duravanes. Not too happy with the way the bohnings get tears on the tips when passing through my Whisker biscuit.
BUT, plenty of people love them, I' m just gonna try something else.
Old 07-09-2003, 02:54 PM

I have used the AAE vanes the last two years, but am switching to Duravanes this season. The AAE' s seem to tear easily. I' m using Bohning Fletch Tite II
Old 07-09-2003, 04:45 PM
Nontypical Buck

My bohning fletch tite for carbons cost me a bunch of fletchings a month ago or so. I guess sitting outside on my bench in the heat changed it' s chemical make up or something. I fletched up some arrows (same way I always do) not realizing the glue went bad and watched as 2 out of three of the fletchings would fly off each arrow when it hit the target!!

The fastset glues they' re selling as archery glue has the same main ingredient as gel super glue. Read the packages. You can pick the same stuff up at Walgreens or Eckards for a lot cheaper.
Old 07-09-2003, 05:26 PM
Fork Horn