HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Where did the time go? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/329687-where-did-time-go.html)

MISwampDog 09-13-2010 02:45 PM

Where did the time go?

1 Attachment(s)
When I was young my Dad would tell me stories about things that happened 20 years ago. One day I asked him why all his stories made reference to 20 years ago. He told me that when you have been doing something for 20 years you can talk about it like you know something. I was sittin here this afternoon, tinkering with my bow, when I realized that I have been shooting a bow for 20 years. Guess maybe I can talk a little about it just for fun.

I started shooting when I was 7. I started with a fiber glass recurve bow and cedar arrows. Now they make Mathews bows for kids. My first hunting bow was a Jennings Firestar. It was over 42" long and had round energy wheels that shot maybe 210 fps. The entire bow was a solid piece of metal and the grip would give you frost bite in the winter. Today I can't find a bow that long and a slow bow is under 300 fps.

I shot instinctive and used fingers. There was no such thing as a release aid. I remember getting my first sight and having to ask the shop pro how to use it. Remember the old rubber tab arrow rests? Yup I used them. Stick em on and hope they didn't fall off when you shot your bow. The TM Hunter rest was the best one a going and when you put the teflon taps on you were styling. Drap away arrow rests....if your rest dropped away it was broken.