Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Broadhead thoughts?? Mechanical/Fixed?? Brand? >

Broadhead thoughts?? Mechanical/Fixed?? Brand?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadhead thoughts?? Mechanical/Fixed?? Brand?

Old 08-03-2010, 08:12 AM
Fork Horn

Default Broadhead thoughts?? Mechanical/Fixed?? Brand?

I'm fairly new to bow hunting and am looking for some advice on this topic. I know there are many thoughts and theories out there so I'd like to hear some. Thank you!
Old 08-03-2010, 08:36 AM
bigcountry

Shot placement: critical

No matter which one you use. Saying that, I won't ever go back to mechanicals. I am not proud of the shot, but I have made quartering to me shots thru the shoulder with fixed heads, thunderhead, and deer did drop within 40 yards. I know I couldn't have acheived that same performance with a spitfire or rage. Sure, I shouldn't have taken the shot and it could have ended with me whining I lost a deer. But crap happens.

Get your bow shooting fixed well, and you won't be sorry. Lots of good heads out there, from grizztricks, to muzzy phantoms. Tough heads too at that.

Old 08-03-2010, 08:55 AM
Spike

Like said earlier, shot placement is much more important than broadhead choice. Personally, I like rage 2 blades, but that's just what shoots in my setup. If fixed bades work in yours, shoot them.
Old 08-03-2010, 08:58 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by bigcountry
Shot placement: critical

No matter which one you use. Saying that, I won't ever go back to mechanicals. I am not proud of the shot, but I have made quartering to me shots thru the shoulder with fixed heads, thunderhead, and deer did drop within 40 yards. I know I couldn't have acheived that same performance with a spitfire or rage. Sure, I shouldn't have taken the shot and it could have ended with me whining I lost a deer. But crap happens.