Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Hello one and all from a total noob >

Hello one and all from a total noob

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Hello one and all from a total noob

Old 07-26-2010, 02:10 PM
Spike

Default Hello one and all from a total noob

Greetings, everyone. I am from NH and I am very happy to have found this community. I am completely new to this wonderful sport. Archery/Bowhunting has always been a fleeting interest of mine, but it wasn't until my buddy gave me a free bare Bear compound bow last week that the bug bit me in full force.

Suffice to say, I have been shooting it everyday. Yesterday, after about a week of shooting, I finally decided to take it to my local shop to get front sights, a peep sight and an arrow rest on it. Like I said, I've been shooting it bare and I've been using these really crappy $3.00 arrows from walmart, but I'm still somehow able to land an arrow in the vitals of a 3d deer from about 20 yards away about 75% of the time...so I can't wait to see what I can do with actual sights. My only concern is that being 36 and not having a bow in my hands since I could walk, I hope I'm not getting into the sport too late (I don't think I am, but I just get these crazy thoughts sometimes).

Anyway, I'm hoping to actually get to go out this season, but even if I can't bag my first deer, I have a buddy that is willing to take me out and mentor me. And if not, my local shop has a video range...YAY!!!

Well, sorry for the rant -- I just get really excited when I'm talking about bowhunting.

BTW, does anyone know what the minimum draw weight is for bowhunting in NH? Not being of huge stature, all I can pull right now is 40#.

Thanks and I look forward to getting to know the members here and learning everything I can.
Old 07-26-2010, 02:17 PM
Fork Horn