Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Are you an archer or a bowhunter? >

Are you an archer or a bowhunter?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Are you an archer or a bowhunter?

Old 02-11-2010, 06:29 PM
Nontypical Buck

I'm a deer hunter that has learned to proficiently shoot a bow. If I couldn't hunt deer with my bow, I'd probably never pick it up again. I guess that makes me a bowhunter. Same thing goes for my Rem 700 .270 and my Knight 50 cal. muzzleloader. The only reason I own them is to deer hunt.
Old 02-12-2010, 10:43 AM
Typical Buck

I bought a hunting rig to bowhunt and to practice I started shooting competition indoor 18yards vegas and 25yards.
Now I am a bowhunter who proved his worth and who kicks ass on the range.
I seem to constantly beat the guys with bows looking like they can pick up radiosignals from Alpha centauri or bows that look like the only thing they're missing is the tarp to become a tent for 4.
In my opinion, having long stabs has something to do with compensation......

So I am a bowhunting archer.

Frank
Belgium
Old 02-13-2010, 01:11 AM
Nontypical Buck

Originally Posted by grizzly 2
I would probably never have brought this up except I just read someones signature block that said: An "Archer" tries to see how far away he can get from his target and still connect, a BOWHUNTER tries to see how CLOSE he can get to his!

How many can say they are archers

How many can say they are bowhunters

How many can't seperate the two and claim to be both.

Let's do an unofficial pole.

I'm also a little curious if equipment choice affects this. How many compound shooters consider themselves archers? Is it an old dieing term? I'm not sure if the signature block intended a slur of archers by only capitalizing bowhunters. It almost appears so, but I don't really know.