Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Got a bow

Old 12-26-2009, 01:37 PM
Fork Horn

Default Got a bow

The wife got a me a bow for Christmas. Its a Parker Wildfre XP package. I'm new to bows, is there anything I should do to this to make it better?

Thanks

Old 12-26-2009, 02:22 PM
Typical Buck

Congrats on the new bow. You might want to look and getting a different peep that doesn't attach with tubing. The tubing tends to get caught on brush and limbs when hunting. I am shooting a meta peep right now. I am not crazy about it, but it is alright. I shoot really accurate with it, but it took a long time to get it aligned on my string.

Also the string chubs will break within a few hundred shots. I'd shoot it till they break off and replace it with cat whiskers.

And maybe a string suppressor.
Old 12-26-2009, 02:32 PM
Fork Horn

Thansk for the response. I have alot of research to do because I didnt understand a word you wrote
Old 12-26-2009, 02:48 PM
Typical Buck

The tubing I referred to attaches from the peep site to the power cables and is a little piece of rubber surgical tubing.

The chubs are the rubber pieces inserted in the string at the top and bottom.

A string suppressor attaches to the back of the riser and stop the string when you shoot.

I would shoot it for a couple of weeks before you do anything to it. That way you will be able to see the difference in the changes you make.
Old 12-26-2009, 03:51 PM
Nontypical Buck

Go to this>http://www.oregonsportsmans.com/foru...opic.php?t=133
Download Eastons tuning guide their. It will tell you just about everything to get your bow tuned up and shooting good. Good luck and enjoy your new bow!
Old 12-27-2009, 04:07 AM
Fork Horn

Thanks for the help guys.
Old 12-28-2009, 04:35 PM
Fork Horn