Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Pass those smaller bucks. >

Pass those smaller bucks.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Pass those smaller bucks.

Old 10-30-2009, 07:35 AM
Typical Buck

Default Pass those smaller bucks.

I have been passing on smaller bucks for the past 5 years. I have taken some nice bucks, the nicest was about 120 class typical. The past 2 years I have been passin on 120 class bucks. Last year I passed on a nice typical 10 point that prolly went 120s, and I had him at about 12-15 yards and had my sights on him, but then said no; got to pass on those bucks so they get a little bigger.
This year, my dad and I have seen some very nice bucks. 2 of the bucks we saw were the biggest bucks we've seen so far this season. One was a typical and the other was a non-typical, and they both were 180s if not 170s. Along with those bucks we have seen at least 6 bucks that go 130-160. Also, we have some nice 120 class bucks that we're hoping make it to next year, so they can be 130s-140s. So, if you can start passing on those small bucks, you'll see a great increase in the number of bigger bucks that you'll see.
When my dad and I weren't passing on smaller bucks, we would see a biug buck here and there. Now we see them alot more. This will work for you if you start passing on those smaller bucks, and eventually you'll be rewarded with a very nice buck; and probably the biggest buck you've taken and possibly be a record buck.