Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Rage broadheads

Old 10-27-2009, 12:35 PM
Dominant Buck

Personaly I see mechanicals as the latest gimic. They work, but have too many things that can go wrong. Ive been killing deer for 20+ years. Ive tried every type of head there is. I have yet to find any new and improved head that will out do a good fixed, cut on contact head. I also fear that many people are using mechanicals as a fix for poor tuning.
Old 10-27-2009, 06:25 PM
Fork Horn

Goose 11, I saw the post from that link for the Rage 2". I shot 2 does with the 2" that I did not recover. Can't imagine why I would not have had more blood if the worked like in those pictures. Also had challenges with them opening when I was trying to shoot. Think I will try something else.
Old 10-28-2009, 03:37 AM
Spike

I will never use Rage broadheads again. I have not been on here for awhile but to update you guys I shot that buck on opening day that I lost and since then I shot a doe perfect broadside at 12 yards from groundblind with 70 pound draw and probably only got around 6 inches of penetration. Decent bloodtrail but it eventually ran out and I never found her. I waited awhile to look for her too. I will never use them again. Going back to good ole muzzys. Pisses me off to know I could have a buck and a doe already if I had used fixed blades.
Old 10-28-2009, 07:01 AM
Spike

Ok..well i guess that clears things up for me...NOT REALLY........im sticking with my "carbon express f-15's" and because this is America, the land i am proud to be a citizen of, looks like we are all going to have a difference to opinion, so good luck and shoot straight with whatever it is on the end of those shafts!
Old 10-28-2009, 07:02 AM
Spike

Just an added bit here........are the heat sinking ,exploding tips legal anywhere yet?
Old 10-28-2009, 07:55 AM
Fork Horn

Originally Posted by CutEm