Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
I made a ROOKIE mistake!! >

I made a ROOKIE mistake!!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I made a ROOKIE mistake!!

Old 10-18-2009, 03:35 PM
Spike

Default I made a ROOKIE mistake!!

so this is my first year seriously bowhunting. i did my homework all summer with scouting and getting the proper gear. today was the second day of the season and i was up in a my stand just before dark. A great 6 pointer came walking right up to me, 15 yards away BUT.....i didnt have my bow in my lap i had it on a hook next to me...i tried to wait until he was grazing but he saw me grab it and he took off!!

my question is... since im a weekend only hunter, will i ever see this deer again or is he out of the area forever? the next time i will be in the woods is next saturday (5 days away)

NOTE TO SELF:ALWAYS BE READY!!
Old 10-18-2009, 03:41 PM
Nontypical Buck

Even though you spooked him he didn't leave the county. I would suggest moving your stand a bit so he doesn't come checking your tree next time he's in the area.
Old 10-18-2009, 04:01 PM
Nontypical Buck

You should definitely see him again if thats his core area. He shouldnt go too far from getting spooked once like that. good luck
Old 10-18-2009, 05:49 PM
Spike

Thats tough to say. I think it depends on how bad you spooked him. Does he think your a racoon or a hunter? If he smelt you in anyway, tracks etc, you probably need to move your stand.
Old 10-18-2009, 05:57 PM
Fork Horn

Just a personal tip. I use a EZ hanger. they can bend in one or two spots. put it in the tree and bend it till its almost in front of you, that way it requires MINIMAL movement to get your bow off the hook.
Old 10-18-2009, 06:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

guessing from being a 6pt i would say he is 1.5yrs old......a 1.5 yr old buck is not a very smart animal yet.....he will be back