HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Stand Rotations (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/306875-stand-rotations.html)

JakeInMa 10-15-2009 01:06 AM

Stand Rotations

I have about 5 stands hung in the area that I've been hunting for the past 16 years. The area has produced quite a few deer for me, but no real monsters. I have a self imposed 3 day rule in which I hunt a stand for 3 days and evenings before rotating to another stand. Would you consider this over hunting a stand or is this a good rule of thumb?

Thanks,

Jake

wis_bow_huntr 10-15-2009 03:01 AM

Id say youre doing ok, but try not to keep the same rotation. Remember play the wind, set your stands up for different wind directions. I never keep the same rotation of stands, I usually just pick a stand and hunt it. But alot is determined for wind direction.

VAhuntr 10-15-2009 04:12 AM

Originally Posted by JakeInMa (Post 3473764)
I have about 5 stands hung in the area that I've been hunting for the past 16 years. The area has produced quite a few deer for me, but no real monsters. I have a self imposed 3 day rule in which I hunt a stand for 3 days and evenings before rotating to another stand. Would you consider this over hunting a stand or is this a good rule of thumb?

Thanks,

Jake

Could be that there are very few large bucks in your area. The ones you have taken thus far could be exceptional for the area you are hunting.

Do you hunt the same stand 3 straight days and 3 straight evenings? If so, you may be overhunting your stands, IMO. That would be a lot of going and coming to one stand(assuming you are not staying put all day). Unless I hunt a stand all day, I very seldom hunt the same stand morning and evening or day to day.

YooperMike 10-15-2009 04:38 AM