Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
New bow hunter needing advice on shooting >

New bow hunter needing advice on shooting

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

New bow hunter needing advice on shooting

Old 10-07-2009, 11:26 AM
Spike

Default New bow hunter needing advice on shooting

I'm new to the bow shooting/hunting scene. I've shot for a few years at taegets and have been decent. In the off season I began preparing for this years bow season so I could hunt with a bow for the first time. My uncle worked with me on my form and I have gained confidence that I can make the shot when the time comes. I have one problem, at 20 and 30 yards, I'm dead on with two-three inch groups BUT when I step out to 35-40 yards I'm still shooting a three-inch group but I'm shooting about four inches to the right. Any suggestions? Equipment or form?
Old 10-07-2009, 11:31 AM
Nontypical Buck

Could be form or another shooter error.

Try walk-back tuning. Your centershot could be a little off, rest may need to be moved just a hair to the left.
Old 10-07-2009, 12:49 PM
Fork Horn

i would try and stay in your comfort zone (20-30).being a new hunter you will be more confident taking a shot that you no you can make.i have been bowhunting for 26 years and i still try to not take shots over 30 yards.
Old 10-07-2009, 01:01 PM
Spike

Originally Posted by joejr69
i would try and stay in your comfort zone (20-30).being a new hunter you will be more confident taking a shot that you no you can make.i have been bowhunting for 26 years and i still try to not take shots over 30 yards.
i completely agree if your shooting good at 20 & 30 the rest is history im a 15 yr bowhunning vet. & ive killed alot of animals & none ever further than 25 yrds u have nothing to prove 2 anyone
Old 10-07-2009, 03:11 PM
Spike