Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
I am not sure I believe in Scent Control anymore >

I am not sure I believe in Scent Control anymore

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I am not sure I believe in Scent Control anymore

Old 10-07-2009, 07:11 AM
Spike

Default I am not sure I believe in Scent Control anymore

I am going to start off saying that I will probably catch a lot of slack for my actions this past weekend, but here is the story.

I have always been a firm believer of scent control. I always wash my hunting clothes, shower and spray before I hit the woods. But this past Saturday I had an interesting experience. I am a college student so I only get to hunt on the weekends. Friday afternoon, saturday morning and saturday afternoon. This limits my hunting time. Well this past weekend I went out friday afternoon and didnt see a single deer. Saturday morning I had to help with a Brunswick Stew (if you have every cooked a brunswick stew, you know that the smell seems to stick with you for days). So i didnt get to hunt saturday morning. During the day saturday i was runnning a tractor for about four hours. I didnt have time to shower or wash my clothes. I threw on my hunting clothes and quickly sprayed them with scent killer and hit the woods about 5 aclock. I was sitting in my stand which is about 20 ft off the ground, and i could honestly even smell myself. All i could smell was diesel fuel and brunswick stew. I really didnt plan on seeing any deer (due to the smell), but since i dint get to hunt much i decided to try it anyways. About 645 a fawn walks out at about 15 yds. Then about 20 minutes later a mature doe and spike walk out. The spike ended up walking directly under my stand (at most 2 yds away from the bottom of the tree i was in). It was somewhat windy and all the deer (at some point) were directly downwind of me.