Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Newbie here... looking for new bow. >

Newbie here... looking for new bow.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Newbie here... looking for new bow.

Old 09-29-2009, 08:48 AM
Spike

Default Newbie here... looking for new bow.

Ok, so here is the deal. When I was younger I owned a Bear compound. I loved shooting it. Never really got the chance to hunt anything with it. I do own an old bowhunting rig but rarely ever use it as the only thing around here to shoot at is gar fish... and I hate gar fish. lol

I am now an adult (that's what everyone tells me anyway ) and want to get into compound bow shooting for a number of reasons. I like to hunt all kinds of animals. Deer, Hogs, Rabbits, Squirrels. I like target shooting but handgun/rifle ammo pricing is so ridiculous these days that I can either take five or six trips to the range within the next couple of months OR I can purchase a compound bow and setup and shoot for the next year without shelling out extra cash (after initial setup and such)

I won't be taking the bow into the deer woods for a while as I do not think I will feel comfortable shooting at a deer until I can get my technique down and skills sharpened. I also have nowhere to hunt for the time being.

I have narrowed the choices down to a few different bows. I still have yet to shoot any of them and will be doing that when I get a chance. I will make my final choice off of the feel of the bow and will factor in what I have read here on the errornet. I just wanted some opinions, comments, pointing and laughing... you know, the usual.