Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
dumb shot placement question >

dumb shot placement question

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

dumb shot placement question

Old 09-28-2009, 03:57 PM
Spike

Default dumb shot placement question

hi,
im new to bowhunting and i have a stupid question. im more curious than anything. anyway, i shot 2 deer last year with a rifle. i hit both of them in the neck and they both dropped instantly. would a deer drop if you hit it in the neck with an arrow, or is it the shock of a rifle bullet that drops them?
Old 09-28-2009, 04:03 PM
Super Moderator

If you hit the deer in the spinal cord with an arrow, it would drop in it's tracks. A gun shot can hit near the spinal cord with out actually severing it and yet still cause enough nerve disruption to drop the animal. (that's the shock part)

Don't go trying to that shot with a bow on the hopes of hitting the spinal cord. It's about the diameter of a pencil.
Old 09-28-2009, 04:04 PM
Typical Buck

If the arrow hits the spine in the neck yes it will drop them. that bein said it is not a good shot for a bowhunter-too much meat and muscle to penetrate and if you dont hit the spine or the carotid artery you have a wounded deer. Stick to the lungs and heart area for bowhunting.
Old 09-28-2009, 04:07 PM
Nontypical Buck

Dont try it, go for the boiler room.
Old 09-28-2009, 04:17 PM
Nontypical Buck

Gettem right here and you will have some dead Deer!!
Attached Thumbnails dumb shot placement question-10pt_buck_mg_3981.jpg  
Old 09-28-2009, 04:27 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default If bows and arrows worked real good

and better than rifles, all the World War I armies would have used bows and arrows.