Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
1st time bowhunter-draw weight question >

1st time bowhunter-draw weight question

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

1st time bowhunter-draw weight question

Old 09-19-2009, 06:32 PM
Spike

Default 1st time bowhunter-draw weight question

Hi guys. 53 y.o. newbie here. My bow is set at 60#, can be adjusted to 70#. My question is would a higher draw weight equal faster arrow speed? If so, would that in turn equal less drop at around 30 to 35 yards?
Old 09-19-2009, 06:39 PM
Giant Nontypical

Yes it would equal more speed, and less drop although not night and day differences.

You'd still be best served shooting a weight you can hold comfortably. A good shot is better than a fast bad shot!
Old 09-19-2009, 06:39 PM
Fork Horn

im at 50#s and i am happy with it no need to even think about shooting out to 30 yards. not that im not comfertable with that shot, just i dont think that it is a good shot to make on an animal. All of these big # bows are nice and all, yeah they are fast but they arnt really all that necassary to me. If i were you keep it where its at and only shoot out to about 25 yards. just my 2 cents
Old 09-19-2009, 08:56 PM
Nontypical Buck

remember when its december and you have a lot of clothes on it makes it a lot harder to pull back
Old 09-20-2009, 03:08 AM
Nontypical Buck

My experience ~
I had my bow set for 62 lbs. and it shot 231 fps.
I decided to crank it up to a magical "69"lbs and it shot 238 fps.

After sitting in 23 degree temps for 5 hours and trying to pull the 69 lbs back, I realized I couldn't, so I had to get down out of my stand 20 minutes early.

Moral of my story... I went back to an easy 62 lbs, which I could pull back in cold temps, especially seeing I didn't notice much of a difference in drop out to 30 yards...
Old 09-20-2009, 04:51 AM
Giant Nontypical