Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Did I miss my chance? >

Did I miss my chance?

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Did I miss my chance?

Old 09-19-2009, 06:09 PM
Spike

Default Did I miss my chance?

I'm pretty new to bowhunting, and was sitting in a stand overlooking a field tonight. I had 3 nice does walk right out in front of me at 20 yards, but I didn't want to shoot because the temperature here in Wisconsin tonight was close to 80 degrees. Since I'm on a field edge and not a trail, did I miss my chance by not pulling the trigger tonight? Can I count on seeing them again soon? I didn't spook them, and I have a salt lick out that they all went to.
Old 09-19-2009, 06:16 PM
Typical Buck

They will be back-you did nothing wrong!!
Old 09-19-2009, 06:23 PM
Fork Horn

They should be back.

A little warning...when hunting over a salt block or bait, the deer tend to get to the salt block or bait pile right at dark. Sometimes, they may come in at last light and spend a good amount of time there, so you would have to kick them off it when leaving at night. So, its may be good to sit a few hundred yards in front of the salt lick. And by in front, I mean in between wherever you think the deer are before they head to the salt lick and the salt lick itself. (Strategy) Hopefully this makes sense!

Good luck and I can assure you that bowhunting is a sport that you will enjoy!
Old 09-19-2009, 06:23 PM
Giant Nontypical

Sounds like you missed "a" chance but certainly not your last. If they didn't spook even as you walked out for the night, you can probably count on them sticking t a routine for a while yet.
Old 09-19-2009, 06:26 PM
Dominant Buck

Gotta ask.....

If you're worried about shooting in those temps....what were you doing in the tree?
Old 09-19-2009, 06:42 PM
Giant Nontypical

Originally Posted by GMMAT
Gotta ask.....