Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Broadheads

Old 08-20-2009, 01:27 PM
Typical Buck

Default Broadheads

Well I am going to start bowhunting this year. I cant wait taking my bow hunting course on Saturday and have been shooting the bow a little over the summer.

I have a Hoyt Intruder wit a draw lenght of 29 and a pull weight of 55 lbs. I have some carbon arrows with some field points.

I would like to know what type of broadhead I should start with to be able to mimick the shooting of the field tips. Is there a common brand thats out there. Thanks for the help in advance.

Mirza
Old 08-20-2009, 05:30 PM
Fork Horn

I have never been a fan of mechanical broadheads until I started shooting Rage, they fly exactly like field tips. But I recommend going to a local dealer and shot some sample broadheads and see what you think.
Old 08-20-2009, 06:00 PM
Nontypical Buck

You should be able to get just about any broadhead to fly well out of a well tuned bow. But with that being said, im a big fan of slick tricks.
Old 08-20-2009, 07:50 PM
Fork Horn

I agree w/mohunter in that all broadheads shoot well as long as your bow is tuned. Another big one is that your arrows are also tuned for the broadhead you shoot. I used to use Rage 2 blade, but have switched to Montecs and after a bit of tuning, I'm happy I switched. I just feel more confident with a fixed head as there's no moving parts to worry about, and I can resharpen them without having to buy new blades.
Old 08-21-2009, 06:15 AM
Nontypical Buck

In over 50 years of Bowhunting I have found a 3 blade seems to always fly good right out of the box & I would say if you use a 100 gr. head or less you will have similar flight as your field tip.
1 shoot 60#s, 29" aluminum arrow (on the heavy side) & a 3 Blade 125 gr. Rocky Mountain Ironhead.