Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Groups?

Old 07-21-2009, 04:40 PM
Typical Buck

Default Groups?

I just started shooting a bow last summer,got good enough to shoot decent groups and hunted my first archery season last year and harvested my first deer at 30yds,a small doe.Anyway,I've been shooting more and more lateley and it seems my groups ain't getting any better,seems I can consistantly shoot a 4 to 5 inch group at 30 and 40 yds,I want to be able to shoot groups to where the arrows are all touching almost.Any tips to give a newbie on how to shrink his groups down?? I have nobody to turn to for bow advice,because I know noone who bowhunts.So this leaves me to you guys.
Old 07-21-2009, 06:08 PM
Boone & Crockett

It's hard to tell without seeing you shoot, but you have to shoot consistency. Same anchor point, no target panic ( or punching the release) You have to do the same thing each shot.
You really need to shoot with some one that can point out bad habits. Good form is a good place to start.

I practice 60- 70 yards. Even though I've been shooting for over 45 years it's about perfect practice, meaning to shoot correct form and being consistent.
Old 07-21-2009, 06:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

Rev is pretty much on the money. Form is everything in archery. Learning how to tune your equipment and fitting the bow to fit you down to a Tee can work wonders. Many people shoot an incorrect draw length and never know it.

From my experience I would tell you to find a local club, join, and try to make friends and ask for hands-on help from some of the better target shooters with your form. If you can't find a club then ask at a local pro-shop. They should kno what's around. Not everybody buys a bow to hunt with. Those that don't hunt have to shoot somewhere.