Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Elk solo....who's done it, any tips??? >

Elk solo....who's done it, any tips???

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Elk solo....who's done it, any tips???

Old 07-01-2009, 03:55 AM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Elk solo....who's done it, any tips???

This rate is used to burn body fat, any rate above 130 starts to burn muscle tissue, which for my work out isn't what I am trying to do. Probably why you don't see runners or road bikers with any sort of muscle mass.

There was a good article in Huntin' Fool (I believe) about long and steady workouts to increase ones VO2. Most believe you need short full-out 20 minute workouts, which isn't the case.

I am no expert in exercise, but since heading out west since 1995, I haven't been limited because I was out of shape, but as GNMAT says, it may not be universal to all.

ORIGINAL: GMMAT

Believe it or not, you will get better results walking on a treadmill for 40-50 minutes at a 10% incline (keeping your heart rate below 130) than you will 20 minutes of running or an "All Out" workout on an ellipitical trainer. This is something that is needed to be done everyday, but only 3-4 days a week.
I don't know where this comes from, but it's "at best" misleading. Heart rate of 130?......for who? That can't be universal. Best thing you can do is get your heart rate to 80% for at least 20 minutes (preferrably 30+) EVERY day. You can't add the ability to increase yourV02 intakeif you're not taxing yourself.

OHbow...I'll be out with Will in '10. Look us up if you're gonna be in the area. Stay safe.
Old 07-01-2009, 04:04 AM
Banned

I haven't been limited because I was out of shape
I'll say the above is impossible.

You might have successfully adjusted your hunting around not being in shape, but to say it didn't limit you?

Old 07-01-2009, 07:33 AM
Dominant Buck