Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Arrows and broadheads? >

Arrows and broadheads?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Arrows and broadheads?

Old 06-11-2009, 07:56 AM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Arrows and broadheads?

ORIGINAL: crbaker123

Man I didnt realize bowhunting would be so technical
Ha!! You haven't even scratched the surface of "technical" yet. Wait until you hit the woods with a bow. That's when the real addiction starts. That's when you'll really find out how technical this sport can get.

Welcome to one of the most addicting sports in the world, we're glad to have ya'
Old 06-11-2009, 12:58 PM
Nontypical Buck

okay i got the information that you guys asked for
draw length 29inches
draw weight 54 lbs
Well, I'm no expert yet and the only arrows that I use and amfamiliar with is Gold Tip,but I'd bet that Gold Tip 5575's with a 100 grain point would fit you pretty good with thier .400 spine deflection. If you go with a lighter point, you'd need to step down to 3555's (.500 spine deflection). I'll let someone else chime in on other brands of arrows. I just know that you are going to need an arrow with a spine in the range of .400, and the Gold Tip 5575's will fill the bill.
Old 06-11-2009, 01:03 PM
Nontypical Buck

crbaker123,

One other question for you. As the famous R. D. Mercer would ask, "how big an ol' boy are ya"? I ask because evidently that bow has 60 pound limbs. If it were me, and this is just me, I'd crank them all the way down to 60 pounds and go with the 5575's and a 100 grain point. I guarantee if you use that combination and put the arrow where it needs to go it'll kill what you're hunting. Good luck!
Old 06-11-2009, 03:56 PM

lol ya i can handle 60 lbs im a decent sized guy lol
im 210 and only 5 ft 9 in so im a stocky guy
my lil brother had it at 54 lbs i dont know why he picked that weight but thats what it is at