Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

[Deleted]

Old 12-13-2008, 01:57 AM
Banned

Default [Deleted]

[Deleted by Admins]
Old 12-13-2008, 08:33 AM
Site Buck Guru

Default RE: How long did it take you ?

In farm country it takes me about 2 crop rotations and I've got a fairly good grip of what's going on with the land.
Old 12-13-2008, 08:41 AM
Giant Nontypical

The land I'm hunting that my dad owns It took me a good 3 to 4 years before I started seeing the bucks I wanted to be seeing. They were there when I started, I just wasn't set up right.
Old 12-13-2008, 09:14 AM
Nontypical Buck

I'm still learning on it. Its been 3 years now and each year I am picking areas that my buck sightings are getting better. I know the land really well but with different crops all around its taking some definite work of walking around.

And as for what has contributed to more success, I would have to say trail cams. I learned just by moving my cameras more often that you can find more of a core area instead of just a random meeting spot. Then try to breakthe core areadown a little more. Definately helped me out this year and hopefully a little better prepared for next year.
Old 12-13-2008, 09:46 AM
Boone & Crockett

I'd say about 5 years on the land I'm on now until I felt like I really had a graspe on it. I'm constantly learning though. Biggest thing for me was knowing where they bed. Finding the subtle (not so obvious) funnels and pinch points. What stands to hunt according to different phases of the rut. Still working on late seasons patterns. A lot of variables involved in that.
Old 12-13-2008, 10:30 AM
Nontypical Buck