Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bow Advice

Old 12-05-2008, 08:37 PM

Default RE: Bow Advice

wow thanks joe! yeah Townsend in about 2 hours from me. I'm sure there are some places arond here I just dont know of any.

can someone tell me if the tru-fire brand of releases are good quality?
Old 12-05-2008, 08:47 PM
Nontypical Buck

I recently picked up a Bear Instinct package from bass pro for 299. A similar package to the PSE your looking at. It fits me well but I have been shooting archery for 22 years so I didn't need the techs advice.

I see in the paper they also have a Diamond Razor Edge package for 329. Never picked the bow up...but it looks nice.

If you can shoot any of them before you buy I suggest doing so. Nothing wrong with getting it at bass pro but like Josh said you'll get a little more experienced help at a good shop.

Good luck finding what works for you. I do suggest you stay on the less expensive side as you realy don't need to worry about the newest fastest gizmos out there. You need a solid performing bow.

Oh one suggestion if your a total beginner. A bow with longer Axle to Axle may be a good choice as they are a bit more forgiving usually. Take your time and find someone local that knows what they are doing and practice as much as you can.
Old 12-05-2008, 08:49 PM
Nontypical Buck

tru-fire releases are of great quality bud, have one myself actually!
Old 12-05-2008, 09:12 PM

ORIGINAL: Jasonlester

I recently picked up a Bear Instinct package from bass pro for 299. A similar package to the PSE your looking at. It fits me well but I have been shooting archery for 22 years so I didn't need the techs advice.

I see in the paper they also have a Diamond Razor Edge package for 329. Never picked the bow up...but it looks nice.