Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Bowhunting during gun Season >

Bowhunting during gun Season

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Bowhunting during gun Season

Old 11-20-2008, 11:42 AM
Spike

Default Bowhunting during gun Season

I'm new to this site. My 2 sons and I have been Bowhunting for 4 years.
I was wondering how many Bowhunters hunt through the regular gun season with Bows. As far as i'm concerned the thrill of the hunt is much better with a Bow. We hunt exclusively with Bows. I have used Shotguns and Muzzleloaders, nothing comes close to the rush of having a nice Deer as close as 20-30 yards and bringing all the practice and skill together.
Old 11-20-2008, 11:46 AM

Default RE: Bowhunting during gun Season

If I didn't bowhunt during "rifle season" up here I'd hardly be able to hunt. We have very few special archery seasons.
Old 11-20-2008, 11:58 AM

I haven't hunted deer with a gun in years. I enjoy bowhunting, and as long as the game laws permit a bow in the woods, I'll be hunting with one, regardless what the other hunters are hunting with.

Days afield with your two sons are what counts, regardless of which weapon you all decide to carry. But you're right, being out there with a bow makes it even more enjoyable.
Old 11-20-2008, 12:04 PM
Fork Horn

I believe using archery equipment during the 9 day firearm season is illegal here in WI. No idea why though.
Old 11-20-2008, 12:11 PM
Nontypical Buck

i take the ole mossberg out when its in gun season most of my i hunt out of the same stand i bowhunt out of so i really doesnt make a difference
Old 11-20-2008, 12:16 PM
Typical Buck