HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Would this be adequate? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/274184-would-adequate.html)

Father Forkhorn 11-18-2008 07:05 AM

Would this be adequate?

I am trying to equip myself with a bow that would get me through this season (I'm a total beginner to bows). Right now, budget is a huge limitation, though it won't be come summer (I can easily upgrade at that point to a decent quality bow). I'm trying to find a bow that would get me one season of hunting and humanely take a deer.

Would a PSE Silverhawk do what I'm asking? I realize it's low end and it will not be high quality. The one I'm seeing advertised has a 55lb. draw. It's IBO is listed at 236 fps. I know from my researching that it's slow, but the materials I've been reading have been vague and/or confusing about how fast a bow really needs to be.

I'd appreciate any thoughts on this. Remember, I'm only asking for one season and the ability to make a humane kill.

FWIW, I don't intend to use a tree stand. I don't do well with heights, so I'll be hunting from behind a natural blind. Don't know if that style of hunting would affect choice of bow, but thought I'd mention it.

Xtec Shooter 11-18-2008 07:12 AM

RE: Would this be adequate?

Who really cares about where that bow falls into the spectrum of low end or high end. If you become proficient enough with it to execute the shot that you need to make, nothing else matters.

If you are beginner, find someone in your area....go to your local pro shop and find someone that will mentor you. Listening to someone who may have been around the block once or twice will help dramatically. Learn, listen and practice...practice...practice!

Good luck!

DannyD 11-18-2008 07:14 AM

FF,
High end bows are talked about a lot on this and other sites. Us boys, with our toys you know.