HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Looking for advice (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/271314-looking-advice.html)

MartinJaguarArcher 11-02-2008 04:43 PM

Looking for advice

Well here is the deal. I am 25 years old and apparently have hunting in my blood, because I haven't had much influence from my family to start hunting. I have been hunting for the past 3 years and it has been a very slow progression to find a stable hunting area. I have finally found a permanent spot to hunt and have been finding nothing but big deer where I hunt. My point is, my father is 59 years old and claims to feel every bit of 59. He also claims to not have any interest in hunting. Although he used to hunt pretty often in his late 20s. It has been 30+ years since he has hunted and even though he says he is not interested in hunting, he repeatedly askes me about any sighting I may have had. Clearly he still gets the bug a little from seeing me hunt. I have suggested that he come and sit with me in a ground blind with a rifle and lets make the best of it but, he insist's that it is a young mans sport. My question is, how can I get my father back interested in hunting without forcing him into doing it only because he feels that it will make me happier? I want him to do it because he wants to and perhaps teach me a thing or to that i don't know. Any advice?

Rob/PA Bowyer 11-02-2008 04:47 PM

RE: Looking for advice

Good question, it's either in you or it's not. I don't understand some of my friends who don't go when they can go or are wishy washy about going. Me, it's in me, part of who I am and I'd addicted.

Perhaps bring some footage home with you from a sit? I don't know, when telling of your sits, get real excited, real emotional (if it's in you) and maybe it'll affect him more. That's a tough call and I wish you the best.

2droptine 11-02-2008 05:33 PM