Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

I'm addicted..

Old 10-23-2008, 03:23 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default I'm addicted..

Its official, I'm definitely addicted to bowhunting. As some of you know this is my first year going at it with a bow, andI got my first bowkill this year. But that is not why Im addicted. In the past with a shotgun in my hands, I had a "if its brown its down" mentality, but this year I think I've grown as a hunter, and its all because I have a bow in my hands. Just having deer come in so close is a thrill in itself, just as good as harvesting an animal. Ive had deer within 30 yards atleast 5-6 times this year, and when it felt right, I took the shot. When it doesn't, I don't.

This morning at our family farmI had a less than 10 yard shot opportunity at a small six pointer, and I let him walk, just enjoyed watching him. I have never taken a buck with my bow, and even though it would have been an easy shot on a 1st bow buck, I held out. To play the hand of God with a deer is a truly amazing experience. Hopefully no one kills him this year and he grows and grows. Ive seen a nice 8 pointer twice so far this October, so he is my target. I never thought I would have a "target" deer, especially during my first year with a bow. In my opinion, there is deer hunting, and then there is Bowhunting. There is absolutley nothing like it. Have a safe and successful season everyone...

Adam Bowman
Old 10-23-2008, 03:24 PM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: I'm addicted..

Welcome to the club
Old 10-23-2008, 03:34 PM
Nontypical Buck

ORIGINAL: Siman08/OH

Welcome to the club
Agreed!

The best sport/hobby/obsession in the world right here!!
Old 10-23-2008, 03:42 PM

I have had this same addiction for the last 33 years))) Hard habit to break (not that I want to). Glad you enjoy it and good luck

Dave
Old 10-23-2008, 04:57 PM
Nontypical Buck