Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Need some pointers for baggin a buck!! >

Need some pointers for baggin a buck!!

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need some pointers for baggin a buck!!

Old 10-20-2008, 06:45 PM
Fork Horn

Default Need some pointers for baggin a buck!!

Well I have been out every week at least 5 times a week hunting about 20 yds from a soybean field and I see a lot of does and a few bucks. However I am not seeing bucks consistently and everytime I see one he's out in the middle of the field and I can't do anything to draw a single buck in, I try calling, rattling and when I do they just look in my direction and then go back to crunching on the beans. It's my first time bowhunting for deer, and last year I got my first buck with a gun which was a little 3 point. Just wanted some tips on calling in a big buck, and I know of a big 8 and 10 point on the property with at least 5 other nice shooters, any tips will be greatly appreciated!!!! Thanks
Old 10-20-2008, 06:48 PM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Need some pointers for baggin a buck!!

Try to figure out where they are entering the field, or where they are bedding down and get between them and the food...

If you're hunting the same stand 5 times a week, you're over hunting it.. move around. Make sure the wind is in your favor or the deer could simply know you're there and be avoiding the area.

Otherwise, the rut should be starting up in a few weeks, make sure to be out then!
Old 10-20-2008, 06:56 PM
Fork Horn