Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Sometimes I wonder why I even try... >

Sometimes I wonder why I even try...

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Sometimes I wonder why I even try...

Old 10-02-2008, 10:24 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default Sometimes I wonder why I even try...

Each year I try to advance myself and the methods I use to improve from the years past. Some hunters are happy with hunting the same stands and the same properties, using the same methods and shooting the deer that present themselves. Kudos to them, but for me I try to change something each year to challenge myself further. Whether it be taking on tactics I've never used before, raising the standards of the bucks I will take, finding brand new properties and hunting them, or adding elements such as filming into the equation I always try to take a step forward to make myself a better hunter.

Well, I'm wondering why I even bother. Today I went to check on the stand I will be hunting Saturday morning for the PA opener and hang my camera arm to minimize the noise I make in the morning. What do I find? A pile of feces at the base of my tree. This is the second time I've found this in less than a month and I found another pile on the path that I walk in on covered with brush.

Obviously frustrated I went to the land manager and told him about it. He asked if the ladder stand that is about 100 yards from where I am is mine and I told him no. He said that he thinks he knows whose it is and that the guy does not have permission. Being that there are no other stands in the vicinity and I have a good relationship with the other hunters on the property I'm betting it was him. The land manager told me to throw him out if I see him.