HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Is it possible to be too close???? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/265820-possible-too-close.html)

SD_Gobbler 10-01-2008 08:20 AM

Is it possible to be too close????

I had a doe come in literally right under my stand last night. Im in a 15ft ladder stand and she honestly walked between the ladder and the tree. I let her step out some and then she froze like she knew she was being watched. She was about 5yds from my tree when I took the shot. My arrow went right under her. I had my pin on the perfect spot. Im not sure how it went under her. That brings me to my question....is it possible to be too close and it would cause you to have to adjust your aiming point? Im relatively new to bowhunting so Im just curious. Hope no one bashes me for asking. Thanks!!!! Hope everyone has a great season!

NavyDeerHunter 10-01-2008 08:24 AM

RE: Is it possible to be too close????

You MUST practice this shot...and all other situations that you may run into for that matter. No, you're not too close...I have killed a deer right below me before, but the shot does change and it requires practice.

BUCKMARK 10-01-2008 08:30 AM

It's hard to bend enoughto get your form right when there that close. Better to let them get out a little bit to help get a better set-up. Same thing happened a few years back, she walked circles around my standstopping to nibble and taking care of of her duties. Let her start to walk away, made a sound to get her to stop and turn and end of story, perfect 15 yard shot slighty quartering away.

Crowkilla 10-01-2008 08:33 AM