Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
Suggestions for intermediate compound bow >

Suggestions for intermediate compound bow

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Suggestions for intermediate compound bow

Old 12-10-2018, 08:18 AM
Spike

Default Suggestions for intermediate compound bow

I've been doing archery for about 5 years now happily with my recurve bow but lately life has caught up and I find that I don't have time to shoot as much. I thought to change things up, and to speed it up a little too, I would try out a compound bow instead.
I've had my eye on the Bowtech Carbon Rose for a couple of reasons. 1) It's pretty 2) its weight is pretty low at 3.2lbs. Every time I have tried a compound from a fellow archer at my club it's always been too heavy on my left arm to hold up.
I'm looking to buy a bow and a few pieces for about £600 and then use my arrows and long rods from my recurve. Are there any more suggestions for a midlevel reasonably priced but good shooting compound that isn't heavy? That's a long list of requirements I know.
Would be great if anyone had tried out the Carbon Rose.

Thanks!
Old 12-10-2018, 09:33 AM
Nontypical Buck

best advice I can tell you is GO to a good bow shop, as it seems like your not really all that informed on archery gear and bows
it is UNLIKELY the same arrows from your re curve will work in a new compound bow, due to spine strength
if you are having problems HOLDING up a bow that is about 4 lbs, you might want to try doing some strength training, as most legal bows will have a min of 45+ lbs of draw weight, you will need to control and hold steady

the MAJOR part of archery is having a bow that FITS you, not buying based on physical weight of the bow(yes physical weight might be a concern to some degree but shouldn;t be the main concern with a bow)