HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Help with stand location (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/259757-help-stand-location.html)

SD_Gobbler 08-26-2008 07:43 AM

Help with stand location

Im fairly new to bowhunting, this will be my 2nd year. I recently got permission to hunt a section of land along the missouri river here in SE SD. I jumped at the chance to hunt this because getting permission to hunt anything in this area is really difficult. Anyway, I have posted an arial view of the land I can hunt (the area circled in red). I know its not the greatest piece of land to hunt, but just being able to hunt anything is better than nothing.I know there are deer there, I have seen 100's of them in fields and areas near by. Any advice would be great! Thanks for the help.Hope everyone has a safe and successful season!!

Ryan

Austin/WI 08-26-2008 08:37 AM

RE: Help with stand location

Here are some of the spots I would look at. I focused on edges and corners, any time two or more types of vegetation or terrain meet you got a decent starting point for a stand site. If nothing else, they allow for a good field of vision for you to see exactly where deer are moving. One thing that would help is topo map to look at as well. There were a couple spots that looked like they may be old creek beds and those would be decent spots to set up along as they make great travel routes.

GMMAT 08-26-2008 08:59 AM

First thing I'd do (if I was going to be hunting this property for an extended period of time) is find out where they're bedding. Once you know that.....you've got 1/2 of it licked.