Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Recovery, What To Do After the Shot. >

Recovery, What To Do After the Shot.

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Recovery, What To Do After the Shot.

Old 11-09-2008, 04:37 PM
Spike

Default RE: Recovery, What To Do After the Shot.

this is great info. this is my first year hunting and it is awesome. i wish i had read this first. my second day out hunting i encountered 6 deer in the morning in a open/corn field. the deer had a path beat to high heaven and i seen them using it heavily. at dawn i seen 4 smaller deer move threw and was unable to get a shot due too brush i was devastated being 25 yards and at full draw with a great shot except for the brush. as those deer ran off i looked to off in to the ajacent field and seen a monster buck coming the same way that they had come. so i moved 10 yards for the trail they where using and i waited for him to cross. 10 min. later he did he came to the top side of the ditch they where crossing and he knew something was there that was not to be there. as he came to this stop i was already at full draw. when i seen him stop[ i let the arrow fly. at first i was certain it was a good shot behind the shoulder but the arrow was sticking oput of the side i had shot him. he to wnet 250 yards and had awesome blood trials. so i waited the half hour that so many peopl had told me to do. this was a mistake. although the shot was a t the back of the shoulder i thought maybe he would die due to his excessive bleeding. but he laid some 30 yards off the side of the road in some pine trees and he got spooked by cars. i wish i would have waited. i know he is still alive because the following evening i nearly hit him with my truck due to corn coming off. i have a tag reserved and a better shot for him.
Old 11-12-2008, 06:02 PM
Nontypical Buck