HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   About Washington Hunter's thread; Remorse? (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/253682-about-washington-hunters-thread-remorse.html)

Windwalker7 07-20-2008 06:20 PM

About Washington Hunter's thread; Remorse?

I haven't been on this forum in quite sometime. I just logged on and found this thread by Washington Hunter.

I have just recently decided to give up hunting for this very reason. I have considered hanging it up for the last couple seasons.I finally decided to this season.

Why?I just can't bring myself to kill anymore. I've been hunting for over 30 years. I hunted to the point that I felt it was an addiction. I was never a trophy hunter. I hunted to fill tags. My goal each year was to fill every deer tag I had.

For 16 of those 30+ years, I hunted my home state of PA and in West Virginia. I averaged about 7 deer a year for those 16 years. When only hunting PA I'd fill every tag I had.

It was an addiction. During the last few years, I'd walk up to my downed deer and swear to myself,I was done hunting. Yet I'd be out again a few days later hunting again.

I love everything about hunting clear up until I'd walk up to the dead deer. Then I'd feel remorse( or whatever you call it) There were times I have been in tears as I stared at the lifeless body whose life I just ended.

It was kinda like what an alcoholic must feel like when they fall off of the wagon.

Things really took a U-turn about 3 years ago when I had a doe coming to my backyard feeder. She was a wild deer that for some reason trusted me. I could almost pet her. This really made me think about quiting.

Lookingin her trusting eyes at 3feet sure made me feel guilty for killing so many of her kind. She even trusted me enough to bring her fawns close to me. She was killed with a car 2 years ago.