Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Starting to Bow Hunt - Need Bow Suggestions >

Starting to Bow Hunt - Need Bow Suggestions

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Starting to Bow Hunt - Need Bow Suggestions

Old 05-10-2008, 10:15 AM

Default Starting to Bow Hunt - Need Bow Suggestions

Hey y'all. I've never even posted in the bowhunting forum, but I have been really wanting to get into bowhunting. I'm an avid hunter, and I think I'm up to the challenge.

Keep in mind, I'm a college student with limited funds. My parents gave me a $200 gift certificate to Bass Pro for my birthday, and I went there and saw a PSE I liked for $289. I'm well aware that the best bows are very expensive, but what do you guys suggest in that price range? I'd really appreciate any input, because I don't know much about bows. Thanks.

-Walker
Old 05-10-2008, 10:18 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Starting to Bow Hunt - Need Bow Suggestions

Walker....most new compounds like the PSE you mentioned above are well equipped to be a fine hunting bow. Do not let people talk you into buying an $800 bow right out of the gate. Just buy one from a big store just in case something goes wrong on the bow and you can get the parts replaced for free. Have an archery pro at the shop set you up with a bow that fits you and is comfortable...BEST of luck.

Brett
Old 05-10-2008, 11:01 AM

Look at the Parker Line of bows, they should offer something close to that price range.
Old 05-10-2008, 11:52 AM
Typical Buck

They don't have them listed online, but my local BPS sells Martin bows. IMO they are a great bow for the money.
Old 05-10-2008, 11:57 AM
Nontypical Buck

the pse,martin,bear ,and parker are good starter bows. go to bass pro and try them out and see what feels right for you
Old 05-10-2008, 01:10 PM
Nontypical Buck