Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Hiring Questions >

Hiring Questions

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Hiring Questions

Old 01-30-2008, 10:15 PM
Typical Buck

Default RE: Hiring Questions

Mizzou,

Great points you bring up. Any tips for an interview with the state? haha they suck because the interviewers are notallowed to talk to you. The three of them will sit across from you and go down the list of questions. Ask a question and stare at you. When you say you're finished they move to the next one. I have an interview in a week or two for a transfer into the DEP. Hopefully it'll go well like my last two.
Old 02-01-2008, 08:31 PM
Fork Horn

What if I hire the guy and he moves in on my hunting property that I have been working on for 6 years? Is this grounds for termination? If yes, what would be my stance.
Old 02-01-2008, 08:35 PM
Giant Nontypical

I gotta admit... this thread turned out some pretty mature answers. I think there's a lot to be said from both points of view; work ethic is indeed important, and so's the "relatability" factor. No slam on anyone intended, but I've worked around a lot of engineers in the past, and that can be pretty hard to find.
Old 02-01-2008, 09:03 PM
Fork Horn

Well, I would never hire someone based on if they liked archery, but I do think that passion is very important. Jack Welch, love him, hate him, or don't know him, he has a very good book out with a chapter on hiring. Heuses the 4 Es

http://smd-nationalist.blogspot.com/2005/07/4-es-leadership-traits-according-to.html

Engineers are not all that bad, just look at the new bowtechs. I sure their were a few working on those designs.
Old 02-04-2008, 06:49 AM
Nontypical Buck