Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Big Question About Front Of Center (FOC) >

Big Question About Front Of Center (FOC)

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Big Question About Front Of Center (FOC)

Old 11-29-2007, 06:08 PM

Default Big Question About Front Of Center (FOC)

I am somewhat of a self taught bowhunter. I never have had resources or people with the knowledge to teach me some in and outs of bowhunting.I have been bowhunting for about 9 or 10 years.I have just recently got into these forums and i have been able to put a name to some of the things i have been doing as far as tuning and shooting. But i never heard or thought of this FOC. I have tried to read up on it but it mostly gives me information on how to find your FOC. What i dont know is what is the point of knowing that or setting your arrows up to a certain %?Whats the advantages/disadvantages of having a high FOC % andwhat are the advantages/disadvantages of a lower FOC%? What if your arrow is perfectly balanced? Is that possible?Any information on this would be greatly appreciated.
Old 11-29-2007, 06:12 PM

Default RE: Big Question About Front Of Center (FOC)

To put it as simply as possible.....An arrow will ALWAYS fly heavy end forward. If the nock end were heavier than the tip, it would turn tails and fly nock forward. Guaranteed. So the closer your balance point is tho the dead center of the arrow, the harder the fletching has to work at keeping it straight.

Move that balance point closer to the nock, and your arrow is MUCH more stable.

In other words, have more weight toward the front than the back.
Old 11-29-2007, 06:18 PM
Nontypical Buck