HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Native Americans... (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/216796-native-americans.html)

Vabowman 11-09-2007 08:42 AM

Native Americans...

Have you ever thought about how they did it? I mean, Im a history teacher and I have to reflect on what they did with the bow and arrow. No fall away rests, not paper tune, no sights, no self climbers, no carbon arrows, no overdraws, etc.. My hat is off to them and those of you that are still brave enough to go traditional in this game. I shoot a compound and I have hunted with one for all my years, it makes it much easier than the recurve or long bow. Respect for those in the past and present who got it and still get done your way...

chris2216 11-09-2007 09:20 AM

RE: Native Americans...

I agree with you about wondering how they did it. I harvested my first deer with a long bow and cedar arrows many years ago. since then (like everyone else) I have updated my equipment to a compund and carbon. TheNative Americans beganshootingtheir bows as soon as they could walk and shot them daily. They knew every animal in the woods , it habits, how it interacted with the other animals, and how it lived. The were part of the land and had to be to survive. I have studied them all of my life and the more I learn the more I admire them.They were (and still are) very spritual people. I, to this day thank any animal I harvest for its life and am sure to eat every bit of it.I respect how they lived with nature and were part of it.They were someting special in my opinion.

Schultzy 11-09-2007 09:25 AM

ORIGINAL: chris2216