Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Need help!

Old 09-19-2007, 08:45 AM

Default Need help!

I am new to bow hunting so I have some questions. I have went seven times and only once have I had a deer come out near me only to have it run off by my aunt on a 4 wheeler. I have several good looking spots to hunt but so far no luck at all. Could I be leaving to much of a scent trail? I am bathing with scent shampoo and body wash and I am practically bathing in scent spray and still nothing. The deer do come out but it is always after dark and always where I am not hunting. Any suggestions? I have hunted two different stands and a ground blind. My husband tells me to keep at it but I am not even seeing or hearing them.
Old 09-19-2007, 08:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

Default RE: Need help!

Welcome to the forums! Be patient, if the deer are there chances are you'll get your chance. If you are cautious about how much scent you are leaving behind, I would say keep an eye on the wind. No matter how careful you are if the deer are down wind you will get busted. Also limit the amount of movement on stand. They have great eyes and will bust a fidgity hunter.
Keep at it and read all you can here. This site is a treasure trove of info! Good luck!
Old 09-19-2007, 08:55 AM