HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   Help me learn about deer "displacement" (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/204508-help-me-learn-about-deer-displacement.html)

GMMAT 08-28-2007 07:08 AM

Help me learn about deer "displacement"

Scenario:

Man jumps big buck while riding his ATV through a thicket. This occurs more than once over a period of 2 months.

What are the odds this deer packs up and moves FOR GOOD from his home range? I have no experience with this....as I hunt fairly unpressured deer. I honestly don't think I could pressure the deer I hunt out of their home range. I might make them avoid ME (i.e. they've patterned ME). I might make them go nocturnal (again...patterning ME)....but I don't think I'm going to "displace" them by simply bowhunting them.

That's my opinion. I could be wrong.

What say ye?

gutshot 08-28-2007 07:12 AM

RE: Help me learn about deer "displacement"

I honestly don't think that getting jumped a couple of times will run the deer off.

HuntingBry 08-28-2007 07:28 AM

Jeff, displacement has little to do with pressure, and more to do with the deer's natural instincts. They do this to eliminate inbreeding. Once deer reach breeding age (usually between 2.5 and 3.5) the bucks will move out of the range their mothers live in. That's not to say that their new home range will not overlap with that of their mother's. A buck's range is much bigger than a does. Some buck's will disperse many miles and have completely different ranges than where they were born.

As far as the scenario you describe that is more bumping a deer from his range that he is comfortable in. That all depends on the buck. Some bucks will tolerate disturbance and stay put, but become nocturnal. Others will get bumped once and pack up and move to a new area.

buckmaster 08-28-2007 08:15 AM