Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Hmm, a tuning problem? >

Hmm, a tuning problem?

Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Hmm, a tuning problem?

Old 08-20-2007, 10:14 AM
Fork Horn

Default Hmm, a tuning problem?

I am a newbie to bow hunting this year. I have my PSE shooting very nicely, with consistent groups at 20 and 30 yards, and my confidence grows with each practice session on 40 yd shots, although some shots are still a little erratic. However, I have a little problem. My sight pins are very very close to being blocked by the bow string/cable when I look through my peep. I have almost run out of adjustment to the right on my sight (I am right handed), but my bow is shooting straight with no variance (that I can tell) at different yardages as far as left-to-right goes. How I can I fix this? Does my rest need to be stinted a hair to the left?

This doesn't bother me all that much at the target range, but the cable being that close sometimes distracts me when I come to draw, and I can imagine how problematic it might be in a hunting situation or in low light.
Old 08-20-2007, 10:23 AM

Default RE: Hmm, a tuning problem?

just got my pse fixed two days ago. been hunting with it for about six years with just barely being able to see the pins. was shooting "fine" was able to group it no problem. switched over to carbons this year and had to change a few things, so I decided I should paper tune it for the first time. Turns out that the rest was too far to the right. Moved the rest to the left to get my arrows shooting true, which in turn moved my sights out.
Old 08-20-2007, 11:22 AM
Nontypical Buck

Have you shot broadheads and/or tried tuning for them? If not Isuggest you do so. You may have to make some adjustments to the rest, which may help the situation.
Old 08-20-2007, 11:33 AM