Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Public Land

Old 08-08-2007, 11:07 AM

Default Public Land

i was wondering if anyone had advice on how to hunt public land with a bow. since i cannot leave stands in over night i wasnt sure how to go about that. ive been on public land for 2 years now and have only killed one deer. i used to hunt private land but the owner passed away and i lost that so im pretty new to the public land game.
Old 08-08-2007, 11:13 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Public Land

best advice i can give coming from someone who has only hunted public land all his life........do LOTS of scouting..i am not sure of the amount of public land you have, but if it is small you should scout it well..know what kind of deer are in it..use trail cams etc....on the opener see where the other hunters are and how they came into the woods...most, not all, but most don't prepare right (staying scent free) and will push deer into thick cover....that is where you will want to be......use yahoo maps or google maps (areiral views) to check the area over..

if it is a large area where there are spots hunters may not have ever gotten to....then do lots and lots of scouting away from roads and paths where hunters lurk....the bigger mature deer will not be anywhere near the other hunters (most of the time)....look for food sources in the woods or water, use the maps to check out the terrian for natural funnels, springs, etc....again not sure of where you are going but that should get you started.........but the biggest key is LOTS of scouting
Old 08-08-2007, 11:17 AM

i have to different spots, one is siloam springs state park, its a big state park with lots of hillsand oaks, its got alot of food plots but it also receives ALOT of pressure. the other is a federal land recreation area, its all river bottomsand receives little to no hunting pressure but its HUGE.