Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Which Release?

Old 06-27-2007, 08:24 PM
Fork Horn

Default RE: Which Release?

For hunting, I am a fan of the truball tornado with velcro strap. I am currently testing the Winn glove release with the open head. As advertised, the draw seems easier with the Winn.
Old 06-27-2007, 09:05 PM
Giant Nontypical

It all depends, Cougars09. I'm more accurate with a fingers release than I am with a mech release. Always have been. But I have been shooting with my fingers for over 50 years and didn't start messing with releases at all until only 20 years ago. Probably just an experience thing.

I will say that I have walked off and left my release laying on the table at home and wound up not being able to shoot. Never once have I done that with my fingers.

At least, not yet. [:-]
Old 06-27-2007, 09:08 PM
Typical Buck

Thanks guys, as for you fingers shooters hope you are using a traditional bow. To shoot one of these new rockets would be a shame not to use a release.....
Old 06-27-2007, 09:12 PM

ORIGINAL: ropadop

For hunting, I am a fan of the truball tornado with velcro strap. I am currently testing the Winn glove release with the open head. As advertised, the draw seems easier with the Winn.
That's what I have. It works pretty nice.
Old 06-27-2007, 09:18 PM
Giant Nontypical

To shoot one of these new rockets would be a shame not to use a release.....
Why?

Heck, I think it's a shame so many people put so little trust in their own physical capabilities that they feel required to use mechanical aids to shoot bows.
Old 06-27-2007, 09:22 PM

For about 8 years now I have shot either the Scott Little Goose or the Scott Wildcat and love them both, but I have recently shot the Carter Quickie 2 and loved it. If you go with anything made by Carter or Scott I don't think you could go wrong
Old 06-27-2007, 09:43 PM
Super Moderator