Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.
View Poll Results: A poll
Peep + Kisser + Loop or other
30.00%
Peep + Kisser
3.33%
Peep + Loop or other
63.33%
Peep + Bare String
3.33%
Kisser+ Loop
0%
Kisser + Bare String
0%
Loop only
0%
Bare String only
0%
Voters: 30. You may not vote on this poll

String Setup

Old 06-21-2007, 03:48 AM

Default RE: String Setup

on my mathews its peep and loop but on my long bow just bare string
Old 06-21-2007, 04:22 AM

ORIGINAL: Tikka 30-06

I think the little loss of speed is worth it when it comes to kissers. It gives the same nock point everytime which eliminates one thing out of the equation that shooting a bow is. Altough, I used one since I started shooting so its not the same for me without one.
A kisser button is for anchoring consistently time and again. Shoot with a round pin guard, center the pin guard rather than the individulal pin, and you no longer need to use a kisser.

Peep and a loop for me.
Old 06-21-2007, 05:24 AM
Giant Nontypical

I don't have just one answer to that question because I don't limit myself to only one shooting style. Usually, especially for hunting, I shoot fingers/barebow and have only a bare string. Just a nock point and catwhiskers.

For 3D and field archery, I play around and shoot different classes. When I want to shoot a pins/fingers class, I put a sight and a peep on the bow. If I want to shoot pins/release class, I put a loop on it.

I've never used a kisser. If you've worked up a good, reliable anchor with multiple references - solid main anchor point, peep, nose touching the string for instance - a kisser is completely unnecessary.