HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   T - TOTAL NOOB!!!!!! (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/192792-t-total-noob.html)

kaw77 05-29-2007 05:53 PM

T - TOTAL NOOB!!!!!!

I am interested in getting into bow hunting..KNOW ABSOLUTELY NOTHING except what I have seen on the various shows on VS Channel.
I am cross eye dominant, cannot be changed..right handed - vision in left eye only. I shoot pistol right handed successfully; shoot long guns left handed successfully...but I want to shoot right handed with a bow, I doubt in the EXTREME I can convert now..too old .. 53 yrs but I want to get into the sport, should I forget compound and go crossbow?

squirrelkilla23 05-29-2007 06:04 PM

RE: T - TOTAL NOOB!!!!!!

There is NOTHING wrong with crossbows no matter what some of these guys will argue. It IS a bow JUST like any other. I'm not an expert with your problem but if they say you may not be able to shoot compound post a question in the crossbow forum and we'll help you.

kaw77 05-29-2007 06:14 PM

thanx, I was thinking in my case a optical sight that could be adjusted for elevation, windage etc with an extesion far enough protruding to the left would enable me to shoot right handed?

kaw77 05-29-2007 06:17 PM

I also am open to suggestions as to brands, etc Mathews Switchback I ve seen advertised.. fairly expensive.. what about the various package deals Cabelas has etc? I am not opposed to spending, upwards of $800 for a package or the like

TFOX 05-29-2007 09:16 PM

Why are you not wanting to shoot left handed?

My daughter is left eye dominant and right handed andshoots left handed no problems.

I don't have a problem with someone shooting a crossbow but it is not just like a compound.You eliminate 1 key element and that is drawing when an animal is present.

If it is a crossbow that gets you in the woods,then by all means,get one.