Go Back  HuntingNet.com Forums > Archery Forums > Bowhunting
 Where To Aim on a Turkey >

Where To Aim on a Turkey

Community
Bowhunting Talk about the passion that is bowhunting. Share in the stories, pictures, tips, tactics and learn how to be a better bowhunter.

Where To Aim on a Turkey

Old 04-11-2007, 07:34 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default Where To Aim on a Turkey

Ok so this weekend will be my first attempt w/ a bow, i know where to aim w/ a gun, But im not sure im confident enough to try a head shot w/ a bow...

Anybody got a diagram that shows the vitals??

Also, where do you aim??

Thanks,
Ed

Old 04-11-2007, 07:48 AM
Nontypical Buck

Default RE: Where To Aim on a Turkey

I've always been told that the best place to shoot is right above the drumstick. Thats where the vitals are and more than likely you'll break the legs and the turkey won't be able to get away. This is just what I've heard, Im no expert.
Old 04-11-2007, 07:53 AM
Giant Nontypical

[/align]From our very own website ... HNI
[/align]
[/align]
[/align]Making the Shot

Drawing an arrow on a spooky, sharp-eyed turkey is tough! Pull your bowstring when a bird's head dips behind a tree, rock, fallen log or patch of brush. Or draw when a strutting tom turns away from you and hides his head behind his big fan.

Turkeys are notorious string jumpers, so let them walk within 25 yards before firing. Fifteen- to 20-yard shots are better yet. Remember to look for any arrow-deflecting limbs or saplings that might cause you to miss a bird.

Unless you can shoot like William Tell, don't aim for a turkey's apple-size head. Shoot for the body vitals. When a turkey is facing you, aim for the center of its chest. Shoot for a tom's upper back if he turns and faces away. When a turkey is broadside, place a sight pin on the base of a wing.