HuntingNet.com Forums

HuntingNet.com Forums (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/)
-   Bowhunting (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting-18/)
-   -   distance in treestand (https://www.huntingnet.com/forum/bowhunting/187557-distance-treestand.html)

bodybuilderbrad 04-08-2007 03:48 PM

distance in treestand

Hi all,

I am new to hunting with a recurve but have practiced a fair bit, I am very comfortable with shooting up to 25 yards, I am going to be hunting black bear hear in the next couple of weeks once they start hitting my bait, I am wondering from a platform hight of about 20feet how far my bait barrel is? the tree at the bottom is 20 yards. any help would be apreatiated, THNAK YOU

tschaef 04-08-2007 04:06 PM

RE: distance in treestand

Brad, from my (limited) experiance its the horizontal dist that really matters on arrow drop, not the hypotenuse (sp?) of the triangle.

My best advice is to place your target beside your barrel, climb into your stand and take a few shots, you will be glad you did, especially in a few weeks when your hunting and have the extra confidence.

curth83 04-08-2007 04:15 PM

just aim slightly high

davidmil 04-08-2007 06:54 PM

Bull Hockey, you don't want to be aiming slightly high, you'll shoot high. In fact, the tendency is for people to shoot high because they don't bend at the waist and screw up their form. If anything you'd aim low before you aimed high. But the best is to practice practice practice at ALL distances from above and see for yourself. The horizontal distance will take care of the bear. When you range from in a tree with a range finder you should range straight out too to a tree, not to the base.

AR Bowhunter 04-08-2007 07:10 PM

I agree with david, if you aim high you will shoot to high.

Dubbya 04-08-2007 07:59 PM